Return to Headlines

AHS Student Council captures awards at state convention

AHS Student Council poses for photo

Article written by Sarah Kelley, AHS Teacher & Student Council Advisor

Arlington High's Student Council recently attended its state conference at Houston High School and, once again, won multiple awards and recognitions, including the Tennessee Association of Students Councils presidency!

As a Council, AHS received designation as a seven-time Four Star Council and six-time Platinum Council, awards given to schools who demonstrate their continued work with the school and community through its various activities. Additionally, two of the council’s individual projects received recognition with a 2nd place award in recreation and a 1st place award in mentoring. 

Individually, the students excelled in the awards competition! Alania Owens received 2nd place for her essay and Cooper Hawkins placed 3rd in the speech contest. Gabbey Ayers, Jeena Bhakta, and Emma Braese were recognized for their completion of the Associated Leadership Program in TASC. Gabbey Ayers and Abigail Delloso were awarded the All-Star Award, while Emma Braese, Luke McBride, and Alaina Owens earned the Impact Award. Cooper Hawkins was also awarded the Above and Beyond medal for his work in council, while Abigail Delloso was crowned Member of the Year for AHS. 

Finally, Jeena Bhakta was elected to the position of TASC President. In the past two years, Jeena has served as West TN high representative and Vice-President. "This means everything to me," Bhakta said. "It means being a part of something bigger than myself, and it is an honor to serve TASC."

Bhakta's election to the presidency marks the 7th time in the past decade AHS Student Council members were elected to state-wide positions. “Having students recognized by the state as worthy of the job to represent and lead them is just a testament to what amazing students we have here at AHS,” advisor Sarah Kelley added.

Congratulations to Arlington Student Council!

Sarah Kelley, Student Council Advisor